Stone Bell Tower

Stone Bell Tower

In Kennett Square, Pennsylvania.

This is taken from the first time I went to world-famous Longwood Gardens. I resisted the idea of going to a big place to see flowers, plants, and trees. I really thought it was too ‘girlie’ to be interesting to a guy like me.

Man oh man, was I wrong. This place is fantastic. I’ve been four or five times since and can’t wait to go back again.

This bell tower was one of my favorite things there. It sits along the bank of a large pond at the base of a waterfall. You can walk up to the top and peer around the gardens from inside.

People come from around the world to see this place. On paper, I didn’t get it. Being there makes it make sense.

Going to the gardens made me value the possibilities of keeping an open mind to things that might seem boring or uninteresting. If someone you care about suggests it, just go. Most of the time, you’ll be pleasantly surprise by what you’ll experience. And if you’re not, you’ve still had the experience. At the very least, you can hold it over the person for a long time (like when I was talked into visiting the Postal Museum…not so interesting after all, but it makes for a good story about how bad that place is).

Leave a Reply

